Pho Dau Bo

What’s “Pho” Dinner Tonight?

Okay, the title might be misleading because this dinner actually happened last Saturday. Fun weekend adventures have almost become our ritual 😛 This time we decided to try out this supposedly good Vietnamese restaurant called Pho Dau Bo, which was a half-an-hr bus ride from home.

Vietnamese springs rolls, and shrimp & pork salad rolls
Cha Gio (left) and Goi Cuon Tom Thit Heo (right).

Most people have tried the Vietnamese spring rolls Cha Gio, but it was our first time to order Goi Cuon Tom Thit Heo, which was Shrimp & Pork Salad Rolls. It was pretty refreshing, with tastily grilled pork! But Cha Gio is still my favourite, yum!

Beef stew with noodles in soup
Beef Stew with Egg Noodles in Soup.

For entrée, I got Beef Stew with Egg Noodles in Soup, which surprised me because apparently, Vietnamese put tendon in their beef stew. I had expected a more western style of it, with only the meat part being in the stew. Anyways, The dish was rich in flavour, so it was still pretty good despite my shock.

In fact, I wasn’t as interested in the food as the time spent with my roommates. As a person struggling with depression and anxiety, it was, and still is, difficult for me to get out of my comfort zone. This dinner was the fourth time they tried to drag my out of my cave to do something together, and I was grateful for their effort and persistence. They are the people I’d talk to when I’m stressed out by academics and familial issues. The value of this dinner wasn’t in the food; it was in the friendship amongst us.

Love, Christyberry

P.S. Do you like Vietnamese cuisine? What’s your favourite dish? What was your last adventure with your friends or roommates? Please feel free to comment and tell me what you think!

2 thoughts on “What’s “Pho” Dinner Tonight?”

Wizards and witches, cast your spells!

